The current mood of Siann at www.imood.com
My World ::
02.01.06
Marriage

Well, I've been officially married for over seven months.

Everyone says the first year is the hardest. "If you can make it through that, you're good..." Well, during the last seven months, I've looked at my husband a lot and often wonder if we're doing things right because it's not as nightmarish as I was expecting.

In fact, we have not yet had a major blow-out, yell at one another fight.

There are a few things that I've learned about marriage that no one warned me about.

Here's a brief list:

1) If one of you gets sick, you're both going down. I got sick last week (on Christmas...yuck) and Robert did a WONDERFUL job of taking care of me. Of course, the first day that I was feeling better was the day that Robert was feeling bad enough to stay home. He then proceeded to drink a 1 1/2 gallons of orange juice over the next day and was pretty much good to go after that.

2) It's just easier to buy two different kinds of toothpaste rather than fight over flavor and/or how to get the toothpaste out of the tube (roll from the end, or just squeeze in the middle).

3) If you slept in a queen sized bed before you got married and now you share a queen sized bed with your spouse, you're going to have to relearn how to sleep. When it was just me, I had no problems. I had two legs and two arms and they all had their own place. Then, I got married and, suddenly, there are two more arms and two more legs in the bed. Not to mention that I use to sleep on the diagonal. That was the hardest thing to get use to. I still ooze onto his side of the bed just as soon as Robert gets up.

It's almost 2:00am, so that's really all I can think of at the moment.

I really enjoy being married, but it's true that it takes some compromising.

:: last :: next :: newest :: archives ::
:: :: profile :: notes :: email :: AIM :: design :: host ::


moon phases