The current mood of Siann at www.imood.com
My World ::
04.01.06
The Last 48 Hours

I get sucked into the news if there's a big story.

Less than 48 hours ago, there was an explosion at a mine in West Virginia and I�ve been watching the news every now and then since. I�ve been thinking about the thirteen miners and the families constantly.

Twenty-four hours after the explosion, it was reported that the levels of carbon dioxide were at higher levels than humans can survive. That was the first of the bad news.

Last night, rescue crews found the body of one of the miners. Bad news.

But the other twelve were nowhere to be seen. Possible good news�they might still be alive.

Last night, Robert and I were watching Men In Black and I drifted off. I woke up about an hour later and decided to check the news to see what was going on. When I flipped to CNN, there were all kind of breaking reports, so I knew something big had happened.

It was very much like holding a lottery ticket that has three of the five winning numbers on it. It looks like good news, and you�re excited, but still nervous because as you�re waiting for the next number, you know your lucky streak could run out. But it didn�t.

As I watched the news, they reported that the remaining twelve miners had been found alive. GREAT NEWS!

Although I have no relation to any of the miners, or anyone in West Virginia for that matter, I was thrilled for the families of the miners. They have been through hell for the past 42 hours and it was finally over. Most of them would be getting their husbands, brothers, sons, fathers and uncles back.

I began playing around online, leaving the news on in the background just to get a glimpse of the rescued miners and hear of the rescue process.

They began focusing on one of the miners who was in bad enough condition that he had to be stabilized and taken to a hospital over an hour away. Great. Only one miner was injured severely enough to warrant a trip to the hospital. We assume that the rest are being checked out by the doctors and being rehydrated at the mine�s opening.

I should have gone to bed then because I was still tired, but then I decided to stay up because I don�t have to work tomorrow, so I don�t really have to get up early.

I had Anderson Cooper on in the background updating us on the situation. They cut to someone who was going to give some kind of update on the miner who had been taken to the hospital when all of a sudden Anderson Cooper practically screams at�well, everyone (producers, cameramen, etc) that they needed to get the feed back to him right away.

A woman had come up to him and told him that the reports had been wrong. There were not twelve survivors. The young man who had been taken to the hospital was the ONLY survivor.

WHAT???

They had the woman repeat what the families had just been told at the church at least three times because no one was fathoming what they were hearing. Anderson Cooper held it together well for the huge amount of news that he was receiving. But I guess that�s his job�and why I could never be a reporter.

When the woman was repeating herself for the second time, I started to tear up and had to remind myself to breathe because I was in such a state of shock. When she repeated herself for the third time, I lost it. I don�t think I stopped crying for half an hour. I couldn�t. It just hit me hard because all of these families who had been given back their family members now had them taken away again. I wonder what the miners went through. Apparently, twelve of them survived long enough to barricade themselves in a sturdy area, as they were trained to do. But in the end�

Now the media coverage has turned to the governor and everyone else saying �Well, we never confirmed that twelve had survived�� blah, blah, blah. They really need to get away from that and stop pointing fingers.

They have twelve families who have lost a loved one. They need to focus on getting those people through this.

I don�t think the worst part of the finger pointing has happened yet. Just wait until America starts waking up in about three hours and finding out that the information that they went to sleep with was completely wrong.

I kind of wished I had gone to bed when I thought they were all alive.

But then I would have just been pissed of when I woke up and heard the truth.

:: last :: next :: newest :: archives ::
:: :: profile :: notes :: email :: AIM :: design :: host ::


moon phases