The current mood of Siann at www.imood.com
My World ::
25.04.04
Marriage

I'm not married.

I don't claim to be an expert on marriage.

I do think that people should consider it more thoroughly than they currently do before they actually "take the plunge".

I have a friend at school who is currently planning her wedding. She is driving me bananas to say the least. Fabric colours, food, guest lists...it never friggin' ends!!

Anyway, I've never been one to spend hours upon hours thinking about my wedding. The aspect of getting married that gets me excited is....well, being married. Being with someone for the rest of my life. Always having someone to go to things with, rather than hitting the little black book looking for a date. Having someone to vent to when life's just not being fair. Having someone who has agreed to stick by you no matter what the world throws your way. Just being married.

I mentioned this to Sara and her eyes just kind of glazed over. She had never even considered everything marriage is. From the moment she was proposed to, she was focused on the wedding. How every detail had to be perfect. I don't think that she realized that after the wedding was over, she was going to be somebody's wife for the rest of her life.

I think that's what's wrong with marriages today. That's why 50 something percent are not making it. People don't realize what happens after the wedding is over. Or, as the expression goes: "when the honeymoon is over". People are willing to give up too quickly on marriage. The first time something goes wrong, they want to bail.

That's the part of marriage that I want to avoid. The thought that when it gets tough, that can be the end of it. I want to fight to make my marriage work. I want to be with someone for no less than 50 years. I want to find someone who feels the same about marriage. Someone who's not willing to give up.

On the total opposite side of the coin, I really can't see myself as the "married" type. Well, I can see ME married, but I just can't really seem to find the type of guy that I would marry.

I have found all of the ones that I wouldn't marry.

I haven't had that many relationships in my life, but here's a quick list of the relationships I have had. 1) I was cheated on. 2) I was cheated with. 3) I was abused 4) I was dropped as soon as someone better came along. There are also varous others, but those are the most extreme....thankfully.

I'm kind of reserved when it comes to guys. A lot of the guys that I'm friends with, I just couldn't see myself in a relationship with. If I could take components from each of them, and mix them together (*sigh*).....but alas.

I assume that someday I'll find someone worthy of marrying me.

Until then, I'll just be blissfully single.

:: last :: next :: newest :: archives ::
:: :: profile :: notes :: email :: AIM :: design :: host ::


moon phases