The current mood of Siann at www.imood.com
My World ::
25.01.03
Good Days and Bad Days

Everyone has good days and bad days. Usually, unless something extreme happens, one can't really put a finger on what causes their day to be good or bad. I'm able to.

I've got this really great (yeah, that was said with all kinds of sarcasm incase you missed that) skin condition called Eczema. It's a very hard condition to explain, but I'll give it a try. Basically, someone who has Eczema has skin that is more sensitive to it's surroundings as compared to someone who doesn't. It's much like allergies. Person A could romp through a field of flowers all day, but Person B's eyes could start watering and they could start sneezing just by looking at a picture of a flower. "Allergies of the skin" would be a fantastic way to describe eczema, I guess.

I've been dealing with Eczema for, well, basically over 23 years now, but it's still very difficult. The worst part for me is that when my skin (actually, only my face) breaks out, I honestly feel like John Merrick on a bad hair day. I don't want anyone seeing me when I'm in that condition, but I do have a life to lead and I can't call in sick to work everytime my face breaks out, so I have to just deal with it. I'm usually fantastic with people...very talkative, helpful and outgoing, but on days when my skin is bad, I try to be around people as little as possible, because, even though they do try to hide it, I do notice that they stare at me a little bit longer. Then there are the people who will flat out ask about it, but somehow it usually makes me feel worse because, not only have they noticed, but they agree that there is something "wrong" with it. "What's wrong with your face?" That's how they word it.

Today's actually a good day for me, so I don't know why I'm writing about this at this time. I guess I'm just kind of tired of fighting it and had to vent.

Thanks for listening. :)

:: last :: next :: newest :: archives ::
:: :: profile :: notes :: email :: AIM :: design :: host ::


moon phases