The current mood of Siann at www.imood.com
My World ::
12.05.04
Wait....I Think I Saw This in a Movie

A few months ago, I was rummaging around through some of my stuff and I came across a ring that I bought some years earlier. It's a little silver band with Kokopelli on it and a little blank square where I had my initials engraved. I've always liked this ring, so I kept it out.

I usually wear one ring or another, but I began favouring this one and wearing it on a daily basis.

That was two weeks ago.

Two weeks ago, my life started falling apart.

I have not had one good day in two weeks. Tires blowing out, losing jobs, losing insurance, losing friends (yeah, that's the latest bad thing...one of my friends decided that he doesn't want to be my friend because I'm "Anti-American"....I'll write an entry on that later).

Monday was the end all.

Monday, I was headed to school and had just hit the interstate when traffic came to a dead stop. And remained at a dead stop. For twenty minutes.

I frantically flipped from one station to the next looking for a traffic report to tell me what the devil was going on.

Apparently what had happend was....are you ready for this?....a Corvette and a GARBAGE TRUCK got into some sort of accident in which the garbage truck got flipped over and dumped 50+ gallons of fuel on the road.

What are the odds??? HONESTLY!!!

It's not the fact that it happened, it's the fact that if I had left two minutes earlier, I wouldn't have gotten stuck in the traffic. I would have been safely past the site where the accident would happen.

But no. Fate knows what kind of fortnight I had been having and it just threw me in the middle the bullshit yet again.

I had my hands clenched on the wheel and I noticed my ring, which was on its normal spot on the middle finger of my left hand. I began thinking about my ring. When I had rediscovered it. When I began wearing it. The night before when I had taken the ring off, the thought crossed my mind that the ring might be bringing me bad luck. I dismissed the thought and laid the ring on the basin in my bathroom. Monday morning, I picked it up and said that if anything bad happened that day, I was getting rid of the ring.

*BAM*

Traffic. I knew I was going to be late for school. Besides being born, I'm never late for anything. I'm the person who's 20 minutes early for everything.

Somewhere in my mind, I decided it was the ring. I told myself that if anything had happened, I was going to get rid of it. Now I had to follow through with that (not that anyone would have known if I hadn't....I didn't actually vocalize the fact that I thought the ring was cursed).

I looked around and noticed that I was next to a concrete wall. Next to the wall, there were drains leading to the sewers.

Before I had time to think about it or talk myself out of it, I rolled down my window, slid the ring off my finger and tossed it toward the drain.

It kind of all went in slow motion. I saw the ring leave my hand, fly out the window, bounce on the ground half way between the car and the ditch (making that neat little "ting" noise as it bounced), then fall right in between the grates of the drain without hitting anything else.

I immediately regreted it and wished I could have it back....then traffic began moving. The traffic I had been sitting in for over half an hour began moving and I was off of the interstate within five minutes.

Call me crazy, but getting rid of the ring seemed to work.

The only thing that would have made the situation better would have been if The Bitch had been clenching onto the ring so I could have bounced her ass in the sewer also...

...and if I'd had a Fellowship which included Billy Boyd and Orlando Bloom to aid me.

:: last :: next :: newest :: archives ::
:: :: profile :: notes :: email :: AIM :: design :: host ::


moon phases