The current mood of Siann at www.imood.com
My World ::
27.08.05
Learning to Fly

Well, gentle reader, I have had yet ANOTHER crap ass week in the world of the working. And I'm still not really sure what happened, but I do know that I'm, once again, out of a job.

In the last week and a half, I decided that I wanted to start doing more outcalls as far is work is concerned. That's where the money is. And it's a lot less work than sitting around a crappy little spa for eleven hours a day, but only getting paid for the massages you do.

Like I said, I made that decision about a week ago, so last Saturday, Robert and I went into Nashville and bought a lot of stuff to tweek out my table that I use on outcalls. It is sooooo sweet now. Fluffy topper to make it more soft and a cover for the face rest so it is equally as fluffy. I got a nice bolster and some nice sheets.

I did two massages on Tuesday and two on Thursday. The rest of the week, I worked it out with my boss so I could work at an office stuffing envelopes and maing $9 an hour rather than sitting around and reading for free. No problem they said, mainly because I was five minutes away incase someone walked in.

Friday morning I was stuffing envelopes and I got a call from Decadence Day Spa and Salon. I figured someone had walked in and wanted a massage. Somehow I didn't hear the phone ring, but I hear the ring indicating that I had a message. All the message said was "This is Kim at the spa. Give me a call when you get a minute."

So I did and basically got a speech from the boss on "Office Space": "*breath* Yeeeaaaah...." she went on to say that they liked me, but it seemed that I wasn't happy there, so they had decided to "terminate my employment". Apparently that was supposed to sound better than "we've decided to fire you." How? I'm not really sure.

Anyway, since I decided this was a conversation I didn't really want to have over the phone (unfortunately my former bosses didn't feel the same way), I ended it and went to the spa to talk with Kim. She was basically a bitch about it. She couldn't tell me *exactly* why they were firing me, but they kept going back to the whole I "didn't seem like I was happy" thing.

When she started to repeat herself for the fourth time, I decided I had had enough and walked away to get my cd's lotions and license.

When I went to the employee break room to collect my books, I ran into two of my co-workers. They asked what was going on and I said I was leaving for good.

"You quit?" Lyn asked.

"No, I didn't quit," I declared, starring at Kim.

I collected my stuff and told everyone I would call them later. As I was walking out, I almost walked past the room where Tonya was changing the sheets from her last massage. I told her I was leaving for good and got to briefly explain what had gone on. I had been doing alright not crying until I hugged Tonya. Then I lost it. Over the last nine months of working together, we had gotten really close. I absolutely could not stop crying at that point.

I had really liked that spa. I was excited about seeing it grow.

I wasn't necessarily UNhappy at Decadence Day Spa and Salon (but I was getting there rapidly).

Since I have started there, the trust that the employeers has in their employees has plummeted. Jeff and Kim are SO paranoid! When I started there, we pretty much had access to everything (basically, we were allowed to help the place run smoothly). A few months ago, they decided to lock up EVERYTHING. Food (they were scared we were going to steal it, but in turn we couldn't restock anything that was out), paper towels and toilet paper (I'm still not really sure what they were scared of, but again, we couldn't restock supplies because of this), they blocked our access to our client files (which is just asinine because we have to have those papers as proof that the clients have told us of all of their physical issues, so we don't cause any more pain then they already have), and finally they decided to give us the client intake forms, but they decided to black out the contact information, so we couldn't "steal" their clients. That was the final slap in the face for me. If they wanted to keep the information from us, fine. Invest in some that have carbon paper behind everything except the address section....but that would mean spending money and God knows they're not about to do that! (they wouldn't even buy us the correct lotion that we requested!!)

The final idicator of the lack of trust? Kim FOLLOWED ME AROUND when I collected my belongings. She was trying to be nice. "Would you like a small box to help carry your stuff?" Um....no, the time to be nice to me has long passed. It bothers me that she followed me around because she wanted to make sure that I wasn't going to take something of theirs. I have never really tired, but I'm guessing it's not an easy feat to sneek out of the front door with the chocolate fountain tucked under your arm.

Yeah, I was getting very irked at how we were being treated and about how much I was being worked.

I was scheduled every hour they were open exept from 2-8pm on Wednesdays because when we have meetings at church, they are at 3pm. They didn't respect this because last week they scheduled a 1:30pm massage that was to last 60 minutes. Do the math. It would have ended at 2:30. I say "would have" because the client was not on time (which was not uncommon with clients around that place for whatever reason, but they wouldn't allow us to take time away from the client, but rather cut the amount of recovery time that we have between massages short). I was scheduled for 47 of the hours that they were open, but that wasn't enough for them, and it was too much for me.

I came home from work very bummed the other day because I was so tired and so irked that I wasn't allowed to have a life outside of that place.

Robert and I had talked about it on Thursday night and decided that I was going to ask to have my hours reduced from 9am-8pm everyday to 9am-5pm, so I could have some time to cook and clean around the house.

Plus, I was always so tired that all I wanted to do was go home, crawl into bed and sleep. I've been married for three months...I should want to do more in bed than just sleep!

As I said, Robert and I had agreed that I was going to reduce my hours at the spa and start doing more outcalls so I could make more money and keep my sanity.

Then I got fired.

Instead of easing off the cliff, I got hurled off.

I better learn to fly FAST!!

Hee hee....have you noticed that everytime I mentioned the spa, I used the full name? It's incase anyone Googles Decadence Day Spa and Salon in Brentwood, Tennessee (TN). Then they can know how the employees are *really* treated there. I doubt it will work, but you never know. *shrug*

:: last :: next :: newest :: archives ::
:: :: profile :: notes :: email :: AIM :: design :: host ::


moon phases