The current mood of Siann at www.imood.com
My World ::
12.11.04
Not All Bad Things Pass

In my 25 years on this earth, I've had my share of bad things happen to me. By no means am I as bad off as some people, nor do I claim to be. Bad things happen to everyone, but so far, I've learned that most bad things pass. Today when I was driving from bank to bank looking for someone to give me a loan, I realized that not everyone's bad things pass and make them stronger.

About a year and a half ago, I was winging my way to California, and I had a connecting flight in Dallas. When we landed in Dallas, the cabin began to fill with smoke. My first thought was that somoeone could not wait until they got off the plane and lit up a cigarette. Then the smoke got heavier and heavier and I noticed that it smelled almost like burned rubber. People began coughing. The pilot came over the speaker and told us that we were no longer going to the gate, but had to get off the plane where we were....via the slides on the side of the aircraft.

I had been on over 100 planes by the time I reached 10 years of age, but this was the first time I had to jump out of the plane. I was in first class and there was two other couples with me in first class. The couple directly in front of me was the first off of the plane because she happened to be a flight attendant and was trained in how to help everyone off. She and her husband stood at the end of the slide and caught everyone as they reached the end. I was the third person (right behind them) off the plane and my job was to get everyone cleared from the bottom of the slide after they were steady on their feet. The scarriest part of the entire thing was that the woman who got off after me broke her ankle. You could see it. I mean, her ankle bent in ways ankles are not meant to bend....like side to side.

After everyone was safely off the plane, I had time to register what had happened and began shaking and crying out of....well, I don't know if it was fear or frustration or what, but I was crying.

At one point I looked over and saw the guy who had helped everyone off the plane with his wife. I had recognized him earlier as Gary Allan, one of my favourite Country singers.

Still not in my right mind, I asked if it was him, just to confirm, then told him that I loved all of his songs (which isn't a lie....every singer has at least one song I don't like, but, to date, he doesn't have one), then I just stopped talking. He kind of laughed and asked what my name was. Only then did it dawn on me that I had only confirmed who he was and had not introduced myself.

On the way back to the airport, I chatted with him and his wife, Angela. I listened to them talk about their six (!) kids and learned that they were going to Orange County, CA, the same as I was, so we would also be on the same flight out of Dallas. When we got to the airport, we all got taken to a little room, told that the airline had no idea what was going on, but were asked to leave our name, address and phone number so when they did learn what had gone on, we would be informed (Side note: I STILL haven't heard anything). After we were released from our tiny room, Angela and Gary met up with three of their children. Gary went back to get their carry on luggage off the other plane while Angela and the kids went to the gate to catch the next plane. I walked with them since I already had my stuff and just had to check in.

At the gate, she tended to her kids and I checked myself in. While Gary, Angela and I sat in First Class again, we didn't do much more socializing because they were a few rows back from me and I slept most of the flight.

When we arrived in Orange, we said our good byes and parted ways.

They were the most kind, down to earth people that I've met in a while and I'm glad they were there, mainly because I was flying alone and they helped keep me calm.

Why did I start this entry with saying that not all bad things pass?

Because about two weeks ago, I heard on the news that Gary Allan was canceling some of his upcoming shows. I thought maybe he had caught a bug or had strained his voice and needed some rest. Then the news report went on to say that he was taking some time off after the death of his wife. On October 25, 2004, Angela shot herself at their home here in Tennessee.

I was in shock for a few days after I heard this. I watched every news cast hoping they would say more, but they never did.

I felt awful for him and for his kids. A year and a half ago, she seemed very happy and content with her life. What would lead her to that?

I thought about this less and less as time went on, but today, I was driving from one bank to another when Gary Allan's latest song, Nothing On But The Radio, came on.

It dawned on me then that, while some bad things come and go, some come and stay. She is still dead. Gary's family is still dealing with her death.

That will never be undone. That will never pass.

:: last :: next :: newest :: archives ::
:: :: profile :: notes :: email :: AIM :: design :: host ::


moon phases