The current mood of Siann at www.imood.com
My World ::
20.12.03
The Cooker and Other Pains in My Ass

I don�t really like to rant and rave about work when I�m not there (believe me, I do enough when I�m there to make up for the time that I�m off), but today just made me question (several times over) why I still work there.

I wasn�t scheduled to work this morning, but Saturday mornings have been busy, so I decided to go in and see if anyone wanted to go home. Well, the managers got to me first and just added me to the schedule without seeing if anyone actually wanted to go home. Not such a big deal, but there was a girl there who has a cold/the flu and didn�t really want to be there. I adore this girl, but I really didn�t want her to be there either if she was sick. I absolutely cannot be sick anymore. I�ve been sick far too often since moving. Anyway, it just kind of irked me that they believed that they needed people so badly that they allowed someone who was sick to continue to work, exposing themselves to their co-workers as well as guests. Did you know that allowing someone who is sick to work is a critical on a health inspection?

After I was cut this afternoon, it took me nearly an hour and a half to do all of my side work. That�s nothing unusual, but it always irks me.

This evening (my actual scheduled shift), we had eighteen or so servers on the floor and EVERY CORPORATE PERSON I�VE EVER MET in the building. Basically, there were so many people there that I was literally running into someone every time I turned around. If you know me, you know that my tolerance for massive amounts of people is very low. I got frustrated after about an hour and one of our managers could tell. He asked me if I would like to go home (his reasoning being that we had more than enough people on the floor and would be fine). I jumped at the opportunity.

So, besides being overstaffed with sick people, I�m also getting frustrated with work because they keep promising us things that just do not happen. We heard all summer about this great remodel we were going to get. We also heard about this sign that we were going to get on the side of the road to let people know that we actually exist (our restaurant is literally hidden in plain sight....if you saw it, you would know what I mean), and all of this great advertising that we were going to do to draw people in. Long, aggravating story short, I have yet to see any of this actually happen and people have all but stopped talking about it (except for me who�s apparently ticking off the powers that be with the endless questions).

Anyway, that�s enough about The Cooker for the time being. The headline says �...and other pains...�, so here they are (in no particular order):

* It�s gotten cold outside. That�s to be expected in winter. I�ve recently been using the heating that I�m paying for. I�m still baffled as to how it can be �stuffy� at my head, but my feet are still cold. It�s like there�s literally a line drawn in the middle of the wall that the heat cannot pass without answering questions three.

* At some point over the last few days, my poinsettia has decided that it was tired of having pretty leaves and shed them all. *poof* All gone. My plant is now naked.

* In a recent entry, I wrote about RotK. I want to see this movie again soooo badly. I look like an addict every evening: look at clock, bite nails, try and find something to distract myself with, end up online checking show times and the �official world clock� time, breathe a sigh of relief when the last show time for the evening actually starts so there is no possible way I could make it to the theatre in time. I would literally live in the theatre for twelve straight shows if money/time allowed.

* I went to take out my trash this morning. When I got to the trash can, I looked in and saw that there were four empty pop cans on the very top of the trash. Normally not such a big deal, but I really don�t drink that much pop. The four cans had to come from the previous two days or so. Hmmm.... *shrug* *takes drink from Pepsi can sitting near computer*

* I am getting burnt out on Christmas songs. Don�t get me wrong, I love them, but there IS a limit. My limit usually comes after working 8 hours a day, 5 days a week for 4 weeks and hearing the same stupid songs over and over. I needed a break from the Christmas season for a while, so as I�ve been writing this, I�ve been listening to �Boo Hoo� by Voltaire. Nothing screams �Christmas� more than Goth!

Anyway, that�s my pissing and moaning session for now, boys and girls. Hope you enjoyed.

And now, some totally random quiz that has nothing to do with Christmas, trash, work, Voltaire, RotK, naked poinsettias, or rising heat:

cho
You're chocolate. You're the old soul type, people
feel that they have known you their entire
life. Many often open up to you for they view
you as thoughtful and trustworthy. Although
people trust you, you have a hard time trusting
them. You perfer to keep your feelings bottled
up inside, or display them very quietly. It is
alright to open up every once in a while.



Which kind of candy are you?
brought to you by Quizilla

:: last :: next :: newest :: archives ::
:: :: profile :: notes :: email :: AIM :: design :: host ::


moon phases