The current mood of Siann at www.imood.com
My World ::
27.02.05
"Tattoos Are Addictive"

I may not look like it, but I am the type of person who would have a tattoo. I know this because I do have a tattoo.

I wanted a tattoo when I was 16, but at the time I was dating a guy who told me "if you get a tattoo, I will break up with you," so, I didn't. With age comes wisdom and later I realized that any guy who would say that isn't really worth keeping around.

So, I went away to college and after a few years in college, I went into a tattoo parlor with one of my friends while she got her belly button pierced. Once again, my mind turned to the thought of getting a tattoo, and this time I acted on it.

It's a design that I created (it took me a month to do) and had put on my right ankle on September 10, 2001 (yes, really).

I'm not the type of person who jumps into things. I researched the risks of tattoos, talked to people who had tattoos, learned how long they lasted before they needed to be touched up and how many layers of skin a tattoo actually colours (three, in case you care).

The one piece of advice that I got from everyone who thought I SHOULD'T get one...aka, the untattooed people....also gave me the same piece of advice: "YOU KNOW THOSE LAST FOREVER!?". The one piece of advice that I was offered by everyone who had a tattoo was "Tattoos are addictive. Once you get one, you'll want another."

Yeah, right, whatever.

So I got my tattoo about 3 1/2 years ago. It was something I did for me and because of that reason, I have not regretted it for one day since I've had it (not even when I found out that my soon to be mother-in-law doesn't like tattoos or the astrological side of things....my tattoo is of my zodiac symbol).

I love it. It feels right. It's me.

Recently, I've realized that all of my tattoo advisees were right....I want another.

I've been toying with the idea of getting a second one for a while. I'll think about it, obsess over it, then try to put it out of my mind. A few weeks later, it comes back and torments me again.

"You want to get another one. You know you do. Don't deny it," a voice says to me.

Lately, the voice has been talking to me everyday, so I began doing what I did last time. I sat down with coloured pencils and a blank piece of paper and started sketching.

I have always liked the same things, so I started sketching them. Dragons. Magic. Astrology. Yin and Yang. Hearts. Infinity symbols. Shamrocks.....

Shamrocks!

That's it! When something crosses my path that feels irrefutably right, I go with it because my inner feelings have not led me astray yet.

My attention started focusing on shamrocks. I eventually decided on the design I like and went to a tattoo parlor to see how much it would be and when I could get it done.

For a two tone shamrock on the back of my neck, it will cost about $60. Not too bad.

Hopefully with in the next week or two, I'll have my second tattoo.

:: last :: next :: newest :: archives ::
:: :: profile :: notes :: email :: AIM :: design :: host ::


moon phases